Always be true to yourself

A

Anonymous

1) Could anyone let me know what the Latin translation would be for:

Always be true to yourself (ie you sg informal)
/ Always to thine own self be true.

2) Not so important: Does anyone know a Latin classical quote with these words?

Could you also give me a breakdown of the words used, meanings and grammar
It would be great also to know your Latin academic/translation background!

This would be really great, thanks!

PurGa

Iohannes Aurum

Technicus Auxiliarius

• Technicus Auxiliarius

Re: Help with translation: Always be true to yourself

Here goes (but note that I am a novice in translating):
1) Es fidus (fida if female) semper tibi
[Present imperative of "to be"] [true (as in faithful)] [always] [to you (singular informal)]
Please wait for others to reply first

2) Please wait for a Latinist to reply to that (I simply translate to help others and for fun)

Matthaeus

Vemortuicida strenuus

• Civis Illustris

• Patronus

This is a common translation request. Betake yourself here.

A

Anonymous

Thanks very much to mattheus and Iohannes for your responses so far.

I've looked at all the postings you list.
My Latin is a little rusty to say the least.
I'd really appreciate some further help with this, specifically:

a) Could you help me out with the feminine singular versions as well as the masculine sg?

b) I also want to include 'always', so please let me know if it's right and the word order, too.

c) From previous discussions, I'll include possibilities below, so I'd be really grateful if you could let me know which you think is/are best and comment on (a) and (b) above too.

"Always be true to yourself" (Are these all m sg - & 2nd person commands?):

i) Semper esto tibi ipsi fidus
ii) Semper verax ipsi esto
iii) Semper verax ipsi sis
iv) Semper verax tibi ipsi fidus
v) Semper ipsi esto fidelis
vi) (Semper) tibi ipsi dic vere - which seems to be common on the Web, but unlikely