Fortune favors the brave

Lara Croft

Hi,

I am very new to the latin language and am researching latin mottos that have a military or war / conflict meaning / association.

The second motto I am looking for is "Fortune Favours The Brave" and would refer to a male who believed that bravery will bring about swift victory.

Thanks for your time and your help will be very much appreciated.

Lara

Pacifica

grammaticissima

• Aedilis

Hi again,

That phrase has in fact a Latin origin: fortis fortuna adiuvat

Iohannes Aurum

Technicus Auxiliarius

• Technicus Auxiliarius

Merged threads

Lara Croft

Thankyou So Much.

I read through the whole thread and it makes for very interesting reading as everyone highlights the various angles of interpretation.

So glad I found this forum, I will donate on a regular basis.

Kindest Regards

Lara

Lara Croft

Re: translation "FORTUNE FAVOURS THE BRAVE"

Edited - I had my browser scrolled under the first variation when I was replying. I only saw the bottom three.

The second (not first, as I said before the edit) one, I think, is the best form. It means "Fortune aids (favors) the brave". Don't go in for a tattoo on my word, though. Wait for someone who knows more about this than myself.

"Audaces", from the first one, can also mean "brave", but in a somewhat "foolhardy" sense.

In the third and fourth, "fortes" means "the strong". They basically mean the opposite of the first two - no matter how brave you are, the "strong" will win.

I am unsure of the third one - I still have trouble discerning what difference the prefix "ad" makes on a verb. I can't think of any real change it would make to the meaning.

Also - I just looked this up. The second is the one used by Virgil in Aeneid.

Hi,