gerund vs gerundive

Donna F

I am just learning about gerunds and gerundives. The gerund seemed pretty simple. Now I am working with gerundives used with a form of sum to show obligation. I have a sentence like this: "Omnia ad proficiscendum paranda sunt." I understand the translation given, which is "It is necessary to prepare everything for setting out". (more literally, would it be "Everything must be prepared for setting out"?) My question, though, is how to tell whether "proficiscendum" is a gerund or a gerundive. Or doesn't it matter? By the ending, it could be either. And I think I've read that both the gerund and the gerundive can take ad + accusative...so which is it? It seems like there should be a definite answer, even if in this case the same ending would be used whether gerund or gerundive. Thank you for explaining!

Pacifica

grammaticissima

• Aedilis

(more literally, would it be "Everything must be prepared for setting out"?)
Yes.
My question, though, is how to tell whether "proficiscendum" is a gerund or a gerundive. Or doesn't it matter? By the ending, it could be either. And I think I've read that both the gerund and the gerundive can take ad + accusative...so which is it? It seems like there should be a definite answer, even if in this case the same ending would be used whether gerund or gerundive. Thank you for explaining!
Proficiscendum is a gerund.

Maybe part 1. "Gerund and gerundive" of this post could enlighten you. If it doesn't, please come back here to ask your questions.

Donna F

Yes.
Proficiscendum is a gerund.

Maybe part 1. "Gerund and gerundive" of this post could enlighten you. If it doesn't, please come back here to ask your questions.

Thank you--that's a great reference to come back to! But, for this particular question, I think I'm still confused. In part 1 of that post, it says "the accusative gerund is used only with some prepositions (e.g. ad faciendum — literally "towards doing", i.e. "(in order) to do" or "for doing")."