Baptism certificate 1887

Lawrence Lam

I found this record of my great grandfather in a local church in Malaysia. Today, nobody use Latin anymore in this country. I should be much grateful if someone can help my family translating this document so that we can trace our root. My great grandfather's name on the certificate is Lam Fuk On.

Attachments

I am a beginner, but I have the time and will start--the Pros can correct me.

In truth/In fact, in 1887 on the 17th of April, I, Lorin M. AP of this church S.S of the Heart of Jesus, in Machang-Buboh solemly baptized the legitimate son (of) Lam Fuk On and Virginia, (the child) having been born 4 days; to him having been placed the name Justinus. The god-parents were (the two names follow). [I can't quite read what is after their names. Looks like ius --"law", or it could be "rite" in this context--plus something else.] F. Lorin M. AP.

S.S. and M. AP. are church terminology. I could guess what they mean, but I won't--I think someone on this board will know for sure what they stand for. Patrini (sponsor, or god-parents) I could easily find.

It was interesting to look at post-classical Latin. I was particularly interested to find how irregular "Jesus" is in its noun endings.

{Re-looking at the document, I find myself laughing about this issue: 50 years from now, or maybe less, you will need to bring such a document not only to a Latin forum, but to a --cursive--forum. Yes, I automatically read that as an "L" in Lorin, and an "F" in the signature. But I don't think my grandchildren know those forms. The cursive A is unusual--I would not have picked it out except that the month in the first line is clearly April.}

Terry S.

Aedilis

• Aedilis

• Patronus

SS = Sanctissimi = Most Sacred

Great. I just tacked a edit on, mentioning my amusement of thinking how cursive will soon be "Greek" to everyone.

Could M. Ap. be something like Magister and something Apostolus? Again, I did not want to guess in my initial post.