My first Latin translation

JarMan

I'm an amateur researcher studying Early Modern history. I'm particularly interested in the works of Hugo Grotius but I've found that that most of his writing have not been translated into English. I'm trying to learn how to translate Latin to give me access to more of his writings. So my first attempt is this letter he wrote to his brother in 1636. http://ckcc.huygens.knaw.nl/epistolarium/letter.html?id=groo001/2888

I'm starting with just the first few sentences.

Frater optime,
Gratus est nobis Losecatii adventus. Dabimus operam, ut videat se propinquos habere optime ipsi volentes.
Here's my attempt (don't laugh):

Good brother,
We are grateful Losecaat arrived. We will give him care so that he sees himself to have relatives. . .

I'm pretty confused about "optime ipsi volentes." I'm hoping to get some help. Thanks for your help.

B

Bitmap

I'm an amateur researcher studying Early Modern history. I'm particularly interested in the works of Hugo Grotius but I've found that that most of his writing have not been translated into English. I'm trying to learn how to translate Latin to give me access to more of his writings. So my first attempt is this letter he wrote to his brother in 1636. http://ckcc.huygens.knaw.nl/epistolarium/letter.html?id=groo001/2888

I'm starting with just the first few sentences.

Here's my attempt (don't laugh):

Good brother,
We are grateful Losecaat arrived.

This is right as far as the content is concerned. If you want to mirror the Latin syntax a bit more, it would be "dearest brother, the arrival of Losecaat is welcome to us."

We will give him care so that he sees himself to have relatives. . .

I'm pretty confused about "optime ipsi volentes." I'm hoping to get some help. Thanks for your help.

operam dare = to make an effort, to take care of something
ipsi can be taken as sibi here.
velle with dative is a bit unusual, but I'd take it as "to want the best for him" here.