Herbarium of Glendale Community College

Alexius

Okay, so I got hired as a herbarium curator for the community college which I graduated from and I am in charge of setting up an herbarium there. I am in the process of designing a seal for the vouchers and I want to give them the option of a Latin based seal. Here is what I come up with, but I am not sure about the grammar and word order. I think I am pretty close though :no-clue:

HERBARIVM COLLEGII COMMVNIS GLENDALENSIS

scrabulista

Consul

• Consul

I was hoping to find an existing seal of this nature. Cambrinus -- a "Community College" in the USA is typically a 2-year institution beyond high school, while a "College" is a 4-year institution beyond high school. I had kicked around Communitatis instead of communis but it's not the Herbarium of the college of the community of Glendale.

Hmm....SUNY (State University of New York) still issues diplomas written in Latin, or at least they did until recently....I wonder how they describe an A.A. (Associate of Arts) or A.S. (Associate of Science)?

Adrian

Civis Illustris

• Civis Illustris

IMHO Collegium Commune might work here (since there is no actual reference sensu stricto to latin name of any existing American "Community College" in US understanding of the term - at least I wasn't able to find it). I found two references to "Collegium Commune" as eductaional institution :
STELLARTIUS, Fundamina et Regulae omnium ordinum monasticorum et militarium, quibus asceticae religionis status a Christo institutus, ad quartum usque seculum producitur, et omnes ordinum Regulae postimodum conscriptae, promulgantur, p.19
Hans Henrich Klüver, Beschreibung des Hertzogthums Mechlenburg und dazu gehöriger Ländar [...], p.57

Cambrinus

Civis Illustris

• Civis Illustris

Probably, except that Scientiae would more likely be Scientiarum (Naturalium).

Alexius