Accusative and infinitive in esse construction

By will3008, in 'Latin Grammar', Jan 17, 2008.

1. will3008 New Member

Hello everyone, i know this doesn't really fit into the Latin to English 'Translation' category but i have a grammar problem...

I am studying GCSE Latin and am fairly competent, but keep getting stuck on constructions such as the following:

Senatoribus nuntiavit illos pueros iam carissimos sibi esse.

Intellexit enim Tiberium illos heredes suos facturum esse.

Quod Tiberius sperabat hoc modo eum (Marcus) minus crudelem futurum esse.

The first one means:
    He announced to the Senators that these boys were to be cared for.

Second:
    For he understood might make them his heirs.

Third:
    Because Tiberius was hoping that in this way he might be less cruel in the future.

As you can see, i have a pretty good understanding of these sentences - and i seem to be getting the 'esse' bit right; but the fact remains that i basically don't understand literally what this kind of construction means.

Could you guys please help me, and provide me with a full explanation of what stuff like 'ad Pisonem necandum missum esse' means (what is the purpose of esse) because i can't grasp it.

Any help would be really appreciated. Thanks.

[/b]
  2. Cato Consularis

• Consularis
    What you're seeing is the "accusative with infinitive" construction, a noun clause formation used after "verbs of the head". By that last phrase, I mean words that express some action of an above-the-neck organ, e.g. mouth: dico, nuntio, iuvo etc., ear: audio, brain; intellego, sentio, spero etc.