anulum inventum ad centuionem tulimus

By Jessica, in 'Latin to English Translation', Sep 26, 2006.

1. Jessica New Member

This is quite simple Latin, but being an adolescent GCSE student I'm still stuck. I will provide my (albeit feeble) translation attemps with the sentences.

1. anulum inventum ad centuionem tulimus.

The word I'm really stuck on here is tulimus. It's not in my Latin dictionary and I can't seem to find it online either. If anyone could provide it I would be very grateful.

Apart from that, I have:

After finding the ring we (I'm guessing brought/carried) it to the centurion.

2. statuae deorum, ex auro factae, ad templum portabantur.

Is this

The statue of the Gods, having been made from gold was carried to the temple? Or, in better English After/when the statue of the Gods had been made from gold, they carried it to the temple?

3. ecce! duos elephantos video per viam procedentes.

Look! I see two elephants proceeding through the street?

4. dux, milites hortatus, principia intravit.

The leader, having encouraged the soldiers entered the headquarters?
  2. Iynx Consularis

• Consularis
    1. Tulimus. My idea that a native English speaker should learn Latin verbs as the four principal parts has been debated fairly extensively in this forum. But I think your problem here well illustrates my point. To find Tulimus in your dictionary you need to seek among the f's!: fero, ferre, TULI, latus.
  3. Jessica New Member

Thank you very much! :)

I would never have managed to find that otherwise...
  4. Iynx Consularis

• Consularis
    2. To begin with, the word is statua, -ae, so statuae must be
    genitive singular, dative singular, or nominative plural (if you do not understand why I say this, please let me know and I will try to explain).
    Only the last choice makes any sense here. So we are talking about statues, PLURAL. Note that the verb also tells you that the subject must be plural: portabantur, not portabatur.