Engraving on a cross: Num hoc veritas vincit

By Anonymous, in 'Latin to English Translation', Mar 1, 2010.

1. Anonymous Guest

I inherited a gold cross from my Catholic (Polish) grandmother over 40 years ago, and the cross is already over 100 years old.
    The following phrase "num hoc veritas vincit " is engraved on the back.

I know that veritas vincit means "truth conquers", and that hoc is "this". I also gather that num can introduce an indirect question. So is the phrase asking whether it is true that truth conquers? Whoever had it engraved may not have been a latin scholar! I have been unable to find a reference to this as a "known" latin phrase.

I'm intrigued by this, and I'd appreciate help with a translation.

Thanks very much.
  2. Nikolaos schmikolaos

• Censor
    Re: help with a short latin phrase - engraved on a cross

Num hoc veritas vincit...

Okay, take my translation with a grain of salt. I have little experience in this...

I know that veritas is a third declension nominative, and I guess is that "hoc" is in the accusative case (since it does not agree with veritas). I think that renders the sentence to mean:

Does truth not conquer this?

I take it that the phrase refers to the cross with "hoc" as a symbol of death (I would say Jesus's death, but it isn't in the past tense). Truth conquers death in the end.

Someone smarter than myself, mitte auxilium!
  3. Chamaeleo New Member

If it were ‘nōnne’ then it could be ‘Does truth not conquer this?’, encouraging a positive answer. ‘Num’ normally encourages a negative answer: ‘Does truth really conquer this??’, ‘Surely truth does not conquer this.’
  4. Nikolaos schmikolaos

• Censor

Ah, that was my first thought, but I convinced myself that it couldn't be that because it just sounds wrong (given the context).

So, perhaps the maker of the cross was (as clguest suggested) not experienced in Latin, or maybe had doubts? Or do I just not understand the meaning?
  5. Chamaeleo New Member