How long did it take you to learn Latin?

By soror mystica, in 'General Latin Chat (English)', Nov 19, 2012.

1. soror mystica Member

Recently I have stumbled on this quote by Mark Twain:
    My philological studies have satisfied me that a gifted person ought to learn English (barring spelling and pronouncing) in thirty hours, French in thirty days, and German in thirty years."
    It is a bit of an exaggeration of course, but I have to say I agree as to the general message. English took me 3 years; French was easy - in fact, so easy that I decided I didn't need to practice it, and it died on me most insidiously; as for German, I started learning it three times, and capitulated every one of them.
    There seems to be a lot of fluent Latin speakers here, and and it would be curious to know how long did it take you to get where you are.
    Akela likes this.
  2. Nikolaos schmikolaos

• Censor
    I began intensive study in 2010, and dropped it (intensive study, that is) at some point in 2011. I wouldn't profess to have finished learning Latin, but I have no problem saying that I know Latin.

I learned as much here as I ever did in a book, if not more. Of course, that doesn't mean that I didn't need to use a book to at least build a solid foundation.
  3. Pacifica grammaticissima

• Civis Illustris
    I've been learning it for a year and almost a half, by correspondance courses. The course is almost over, three more lessons and it'll be it (it'll be it for the course I mean, I'll still have much to learn). I wouldn't say that I'm fluent, but I manage not so bad.
    I've clearly learnt quite a few things since I've hanged around here as well.