[New] Latin Syntax Graph Generator

By Godmy, in 'Latin Language Resources', Jul 15, 2012.

1. Godmy Sun monkey

• Civis Illustris
    -
    A project I've been working on for past two months:

1) To generate a graph like this:
    [IMG]

[IMG]

Or this:
    [IMG]
    Or this:
    [IMG]
    (or much more difficult and longer)

2) With this: http://syntax.t15.org + a public and your private archive you can store your sentences in to use it as a notepad for harder reading

How to:

- You simply imply by making the pairs [as: (1,2) (2,4) (3,4) ] any syntactic relation between two words which are somehow connected in your current correct understanding of the sentence.

3) Just write me here to this thread or to PM, please, that you want an account for the archives and I'll send you a pre-generated password

---------------------------------------------------------------

How is it different from other syntax tree graph generators?
    - You can keep the... no, you are REQUIRED to keep the original word order as I believe it matters, let's not corrupt (reorder) the original latin sentences for sake of the graphs and easier demonstrations.

- Other software want the phrases to be together, therefore "Arbor magnos habet ramos pulchra" is not passible and you would have to input "Arbor pulchra habet ramos magnos" - no good.

- other software make ugly (non linear) trees, this keeps the line as you read it

- It instantly generates a direct PNG link, so you can share it on the forum (without having an account on that site)

What are the advantages:
    - The private archive can be your notepad used during any reading, when you are dealing with something where the syntactical interpretation seems at the moment less easy for you... You feel that sudden understanding of some particular latin sentence has been an ACHIEVMENT for you and you want TO MAKE NOTES of it. --> You create a graph and store it into the private archive (or into the public one if you want).