Pope Francis about the Pater Noster

By Laurentius, in 'Ancient Greek', Dec 6, 2017 at 8:20 PM.

1. Laurentius Calvus Palliatus

• Civis Illustris
    What do you guys think about this? I don't know Greek, so...
    Bestiola and Adrian like this.
  2. Adrian LEO VETERANUS

• Civis Illustris
    Interesting.
    I am no expert in classical Greek, but I thought that the controversial verses ment something along
    καὶ | μὴ |εἰσενέγκῃς |ἡμᾶς |εἰς | πειρασμόν
    and| not| you ought to bring |us |in(to)| trial [≈ temptation]
    ἀλλὰ | ῥῦσαι | ἡμᾶς |ἀπὸ |τοῦ |πονηροῦ
    but| rescue |us| from |that| knave

I find it a very loose interpretation of the original ...
    Last edited by Adrian, Dec 7, 2017 at 8:48 AM
    Laurentius likes this.
  3. Laurentius Calvus Palliatus

• Civis Illustris
    I see, thanks. So he's probably distorting the actual meanig.
  4. Adrian LEO VETERANUS

• Civis Illustris
    According to Father Jonathan Morris, greek translation does mean "let us not fall into temptation"
    http://video.foxnews.com/v/5671655850001/?#sp=show-clips
    My guess is that Pope Francis is actually referring to original aramaic version
  5. Etaoin Shrdlu Imminent wormfood

• Civis Illustris