The Trojan Hero: Ante oculos patris, Pyrrhus Politam...

By burgerking316, in 'Latin to English Translation', Jan 5, 2009.

1. burgerking316 New Member

I stumbled upon this website in hopes of someone helping me translate this latin sentence into english, and to learn more about latin.

Here it is:

Ante oculos patris, Pyrrhus Politam, filium Priami, et postea regem Priamum necavit, dum Hecuba, regina Trojae et uxor Priami, cum filiabus spectat.

From what I can understand, it sounds like it's saying:

Before his father's eyes, Pyrrhus Politam, son of Priamus, killed king Priamus and afterwards, while Hecuba, queen of Troy and wife of Priamus, watches with her friends.

That doesn't make any sense.

I don't understand how "et postea" fits into the whole sentence. It feels like there needs to be another verb to help it fit.
    I kept Politam as it was because I think it was a part of a name, I'm not sure if that's right.

Note that I am in my second year of taking latin and we haven't been taught pronouns yet. I am the probably the most interested and striving person in my class to learn latin, and I want to be able to write and maybe speak latin fluently in a few years.
  2. scrabulista Consul

• Consul
    Re: The Trojan Hero (sentence translation)

Ante oculos patris, Pyrrhus Politam, filium Priami, et postea regem Priamum necavit, dum Hecuba, regina Trojae et uxor Priami, cum filiabus spectat.

Politam is indeed a name -- what case does it look like?
    The nominative singular is Polites, and it's first declension.

Pyrrhus necavit Politam et postea necavit regem...

Also filiabus is from filia -- "daughter." This form distinguishes it from filiis, which could refer to either filius or filia.
  3. Imber Ranae Ranunculus Iracundus

• Civis Illustris
    Re: The Trojan Hero (sentence translation)