A prayer: As I grip my sword with callused hands...

sean

i wrote this prayer and Im thinking about getting it as a tattoo translated in Latin and i have no knowledge of the language, but would really love to learn it someday. Please, any help would be appreciated!

As I grip my sword with callused hands
let Thine enemies be stalemated to thy judgment
and bring appeasement if it be your command
O Lord, prepare my table in the dawn of battle
so I shall have the protection of all the angels in heaven
and let me not relinquish in respite
but have strength to draw first blood
when first chance takes its plight
when thy scales are set to weigh my heart
may thy wisdom come like a flashing flame
before Your face, no questions suffice
they rest forever in an eternal flame
Lord, let my eyes not fail when looking upwards

written by Sean Riggs

i dont know if words like "thy" or "thine" can be translated to latin, so switch them to "Your" or "Yours" if need be. sorry its a long one

cinefactus

Censor

• Censor

• Patronus

Re: i need a prayer translated please!

As you may well be aware, the Tyndale & KJV translations were made in the common language of the time, so that the boy driving the plough would be able to read them. Although the issue is clouded somewhat by the application of the familiar you singular French form to English, initially thee, thou & thine just represented you singular.

If you have selected these forms because of the modern perception of religious overtones, you may want to translate the prayer into the style of the Vulgate. On the other hand, the theology more closely approximates that of the Norman crusaders, in which case you might want to choose a style from one of their chronicles.

As far as the theology goes, I think modern teaching would stress the elements of Matt 5:5-9, Matt 5:38-44, 1 John 3:15 & Exodus 20:13.

Before the passage can be translated however, you would need to clarify the meaning of some of the sentences, namely: