Advice for an autodidact

Maulrus

I'm not sure if this should be here or in Language Resources; it didn't really seem to fit there.

Anyway, I'm a high school sophomore, relatively new to Latin, studying completely independently using Wheelock's Latin, its workbook, and 38 Latin Stories (if you don't know, it's basically a very short story corresponding to every chapter in Wheelock's). As an aside, I DO have three years of middle school Latin that I'm sure has helped me a little bit in these early stages, but I had forgotten any concrete info (and, of course, in such a beginner's course, we learned virtually none of the nitty-gritty grammar that I love now), so I don't expect that it's had much of an impact.

I've been for anywhere from 15 minutes to an hour every night (sometimes I'm lax on weekends, but I try to at least get some review in every day) since around the beginning of 2011, and currently I'm on Chapter 8 of Wheelock's. At the rate I've been going at, I cover a chapter of Wheelock's every three days or so (give or take a few days depending on the difficulty of the chapter; I spent at least double that time on the chapter introducing third declension nouns). I do all of the available exercises in both the textbook and the workbook, as well as several online exercises tailored to each chapter, and I tend to feel pretty secure in my knowledge of the information by the time I'm done.

This brings me to my first problem. I was considering joining a LatinStudy email study group for Wheelock's, until I was shocked to discover that they cover a chapter every two weeks. Now, it's obvious that part of this is due to the implicit casualness of any email-based group, but nevertheless I found the disparity concerning. Am I possibly speeding through the chapters? I only move on once I'm done with the whole chapter and its exercises, but it's still going alarmingly quickly.