Conditional Rules

QMF

Civis Illustris

• Civis Illustris

I kind of like trying to think my thoughts throughout the day in Latin; I think it helps to improve fluency. Today I noticed that although I could understand a conditional clause in print, I don't really understand it in speech. That is, I don't know all the rules. The one I was thinking was:
Dormiam sed si dormirem facienda non fiant.
"I would sleep but if I were to sleep, the things which need to be done would not get done." (On a side note, it's amazing how compact Latin is compared to English sometimes.)

I'm not sure...I think dormiam is subjunctive of its own accord (I would do something, I don't flat out do something) dormirem is a condition contrary-to-fact and so imp. subjunctive, and fiant is the conditional verb here (in Spanish it would be in the conditional tense) as it is the result of the si clause.

Is this correct?

Iynx

Consularis

• Consularis

I like that, qmf; it's very poetic.

I'm no expert, but your conditional doesn't feel to me like a condition-contrary-to-fact, but rather a future-condition-as-yet unfulfilled. That would permit any of four mood /tense combinations:

More vivid:

Protasis and apodosis future indicative.
Protasis future perfect indicative and apodosis future indicative.

Less vivid:

Protasis and apodosis both present subjunctive.
Protasis perfect subjunctive and apodosis perfect subjunctive.

I could be wrong. You might want to check out Allen-&-Greenough 511ff, and see what you think.

I think that your freestanding dormiam is fine

QMF

Civis Illustris

• Civis Illustris