ex lux ad cardo [dream]

asmello

First of all, this is probably not an accurate transcription of the sentence. As tagged, this comes from a dream, so please bear with me and focus on the vocalisation.

I reckon some context should help. I'm a hobbyist lucid dreamer, and sometimes my dreams become extremely vivid and detailed. So even though I usually forget everything soon after I wake up, same as everyone else, sometimes I get to keep interesting fragments.

At one time, I lucid dreamed I was entering a lecture room, constructed from the template of my English classroom plus some generic university features. There were a few people I knew, some I didn't, and they all looked remarkably weary and hopeless. There were a lot of schematics on the blackboard, plenty of physics equations and more than a few cosmological diagrams. I'm not sure if any of it actually made sense, but intuitively I understood that it was some deep research about space, at the galactic scale, based on some new evidence found from faraway observations.

There was an overall, rash, conclusion, partially written over the carefully laid out content, and it was a bleak one. It instantly filled me with dread, and since I was lucid, I knew it was utterly important to remember once I was awake. So I set out to write it down over an empty spot on the blackboard. The theory was that, by writing it down consciously and while under a feeling of urgency, I'd stimulate my memory centre hard enough to commit it to memory.