How to scan the 5th line of Catullus 101?

Cornicula

Quandōquidem fortūna mihi tete abstulit ipsum.

Is the 'i' in quandoquidem actually long contrary to what I read on Wiktionary and elsewhere?

Maximus Aemilius

I'm a novice so disregard my opinion if anyone contradicts it, but I reckon the o in Quando is short, sometimes poets make final Os short for some reason and quando-quidem is a compound of two words.

Cornicula

I'm a novice so disregard my opinion if anyone contradicts it, but I reckon the o in Quando is short, sometimes poets make final Os short for some reason and quando-quidem is a compound of two words.
I see how that works, but I really believe it's long; well, it's normally long.

Serenus

Civis Illustris

• Civis Illustris

I see how that works, but I really believe it's long; well, it's normally long.
It is short, while the -i of mihi is long:

Quandŏquĭ|dem for|tūna mi|hī tē|t(ē) abstulit | ipsum.​

Quandō, in this compound or on its own, can have a short -o. Some more examples:

MEN. Līber(em) ego tē? | MESS. Vērum, quandŏqui|d(em), ere, tē servā|vī. MEN. Quid est? (Plautus, trochaic septenarius)​
Quandŏquĭdem penetrant in eum contāgia morbī. (Lucretius, dactylic hexameter)​
Vēr(um) age, quandŏquĭdem fātīs urgētur acerbīs. (Vergil, dactylic hexameter)​
Quandŏquĭd(em) et il|lī peccant, quōs | minimē putēs, (Phaedrus, iambic senarius)​
Dīc mihi crās istud, Postume, quandŏ vĕnit? (Martial, dactylic pentameter)​
Quandŏ, prō Tītān, | ubi quō sub axe (Seneca the Younger, Horatian Sapphic)​
Aliquandŏ siti|ēns ūnus dē | custōdibus (Phaedrus, iambic senarius)​

In fact, I wonder whether quandōquidem with a long -ō- is attested at all... Maybe there's a line of Plautus or two with it. You can compare it with "nesciōquis", which is generally nesciŏquis with a short -ŏ- as well. (I similarly wonder whether nesciōquis is attested...)

Last edited:

Cornicula