I know what I want, but God knows what I need.

aav900

"I know what I want, but God knows what I need".
"I," as in male subject. "Want," as in desire. "God," as in christian/catholic God.
The reason for this translation is for a tattoo. I would really appreciate it.

Thank you.

Pacifica

grammaticissima

• Aedilis

There's something a bit similar to the second part in the Bible:

scit enim Pater vester, quibus opus sit vobis, antequam petatis eum.
for your Father knoweth what things ye have need of, before ye ask him.
Matt. 6.8.

If we draw inspiration from it:

Scio quae cupiam sed deus scit quibus opus sit mihi: I know what things I want but god knows what things I need.

Or if you still prefer it in singular:

Scio quid cupiam sed deus scit quid opus sit mihi: I know what I want but god knows what I need.

aav900

I have no knowledge in Latin, but wouldn't "deus" be capitalized?
Also, I believe the second translation fits my needs, because it doesn't talk about "things," but everything in general!
Thank you so much, I will wait and see what others have to say.

Matthaeus

Vemortuicida strenuus

• Civis Illustris

• Patronus

Listen to PP, she is an expert on quoting Latin literature.

Pacifica

grammaticissima

• Aedilis

If you're going with modern punctuation/capitalization, you can capitalize it, yes.

Matthaeus

Vemortuicida strenuus

• Civis Illustris

• Patronus

Confirmed.

aav900

Let's say I want to split the quote in two parts, because it's too long. In english it will be

I know what I want,
but God knows what I need
How would I split the quote in Latin, but making sure it looks correct?
Thanks.

Matthaeus

Vemortuicida strenuus

• Civis Illustris

• Patronus

then,
scio quae cupiam
sed deus scit quibus opus sit mihi

Pacifica

grammaticissima

• Aedilis

I would rather leave it as if it would have been written in roman times. So?
Thank you Pacis!