Improve Latin Composition?

Terraphore

I've been reading bits and pieces of Latin literature for a while now, but, I've recently tried to write in Latin and found this really tricky!

I guess learning the genders of nouns (which I've so far neglected) is fundamental to composition, but how could I begin to write poetry? Would that rely largely on a strong knowledge of pronunciation and vowel lengths, et cetera, to have any hope of sticking to a meter? What about writing idiomatically? I've searched around for helpful resources but haven't come across anything recent...

Except for the tattoo market, there doesn't seem to be much practical use for composition. Just thought it might be fun to do, and aid my understanding of literature.

Any suggestions?

MaiorMinore

You see, I'm the opposite. I do well when it comes to composition but I'm not that good at translating literature. I would recommend North and Hillard's Latin Prose and Composition. That's what I used this year in my Independent Study in Latin. Basically, the key to Latin Composition is to do a lot of it.

Terraphore

Wow, Latin Prose and Composition looks like a gem of a book - and one that's free online! Thanks!

It makes me wonder whether someone ought to create a list of online Latin resources such as this, if there isn't one already.

Nikolaos

schmikolaos

• Censor

Cambrinus

Civis Illustris

• Civis Illustris

That would be North and Hillard's Latin Prose Composition. That is, the the Composition of Latin Prose. It is probably the best book, but you would need a little help as soon as you get about 30 or 40 pages into it. Composing poetry is, believe me, of an entirely different order of difficulty!

Adrian

Civis Illustris

• Civis Illustris

As for idiomatical Latin, there are plenty of handbooks such as Latin Phrase-book by Meissner, Locutionum Latinarum Thesaurus (in German) by Probst, or A Dictionary of Latin Phrases by Robertson.