Inclinare non frangere

tsedek

I am sorry to bother this forum with a very selfish question. But... (there always is a but) I have been trying for years to find out what the above mentioned phrase means. It is a family "slogan" dating back until the 15th century.

Can anyone please help me?

malleolus

Civis Illustris

• Civis Illustris

• Patronus

I'd suggest
(to) bow , (but) not (to) break

tsedek

Thank you. I found out via the Internet it had to do with bowing and bending but in what context? I think your suggestion would fit well.

Kosmokrator

I wrote this out of it:

flecti potest, cogi autem non potest virtus; inclinari, non frangi.

Chalybs autem etsi in fornace demersus liquescit ac potest procudi, tamen frangi nequit: inclinatur enim cum procuditur, non frangitur.

tsedek

Ohhh I must shamefully admit that, even though I studied Latin in college, I don't understand the whole sentence :redface: Could you please help here?

socratidion

Civis Illustris

• Civis Illustris

• Patronus

You would get better sense if you take inclinare and frangere as passive imperatives: 'be bent, don't be broken', i.e. 'bend, don't break' in the intransitive sense. If you take it as infinitives, it's transitive: 'to bend <things>, not to break <them>'. (Hence Kosmokrator's rewrite makes the infinitives passive: 'to be bent, not to be broken')

tsedek

So, if I may conclude, it will always stay 'guesswork'? I mean the context. The passive imperatives and the intransitive sense, its infinitives... The exact meaning of the phrase may perhaps never be known (only to those who decided it to be our family slogan in the 15th century) ?

malleolus

Civis Illustris

• Civis Illustris

• Patronus

I shouldn't think so although a little context would definitely help. Is this motto part of a coat of arms , an inscription somewhere .... ?

Kosmokrator

maybe referred to those who have power

inclinare animos non frangere (but i'd expect flectere here)