Many men were so foolish that they despised Quintus...

ihatequintus

Hello everyone,

I've been learning latin for about 2 years now and I require some assistance with relative clauses. Here are a few that are bothering me that I have trouble translating to latin. If anyone can translate them, itd be well appreciated.

Many men were so foolish that they despised Quintus because he was the son of a freedman.

But Maecenas valued highly all who were talented.

He did not ask whether they were the sons of freedmen or nobly born.

Maecenas was so busy that he did not call Quintus back at once.

But in the ninth month he callled him back and told him to be one of his friends.

He said that he had been delighted by Quintus' poems; he promised hat he would help me.

Iynx

Consularis

• Consularis

Salve, Ihatequinte.

1. First, please let me assure you of my sympathy. You are by no means the first Anglophone to have trouble with the Latin penchant for relative clauses, often tangled almost beyond human comprehension.

2. But this question of yours makes me wonder whether you and I have the same understanding of the term "relative clause". What is your definition of the term?

2. Let us (in the meantime) consider the second of your sentences:

"But Maecenas valued highly all who were talented."

Of course it is possible that there is something tricky here that I'm missing. It wouldn't be the first time. But this looks to me like the simplest sort of relative clause, in which the clause ("who were talented" / qui ingeniosi erant) acts like an adjective modifying a substantive ("all"/ omnes).

So I think we might render this:

Maecenas autem magni faciebat omnes qui ingeniosi erant.

Or, if we wanted to place the subordinate clause first and the main verb last (a construction much more common in Latin than in English), we would have:

Omnes autem qui ingeniosi erant Maecenas magni faciebat.