The best portion of a man's life...

Jamesnotl

Hi - i wonder if the community here might help me translate a William Wordsworth quote into Latin - I am looking to get it tattooed and want to make sure the Latin is correct. I have tried to translate it myself but it's been 20+ years since i studied Latin.

The best portion of a man's life: the little nameless unremembered acts of kindness and love

I came up with the following but i have no doubt that it has errors in it, not the least of which will be basic word order:

pars optimus hominis vitae parvae acti sine nomines obliti humanorum et amorum

I'm not sure on oblitus as unremembered...to me it denotes more destroyed or an active forgetting...i quite like the idea of humanas as kindness but am not sure if 'human' derives from this and in the current climate, i'm not sure human is always consistent with kindness, so perhaps an alternative might be better?

I'd be very grateful for thoughts and corrections (aka overhaul).

Pacifica

grammaticissima

• Aedilis

Hi,

There are indeed numerous issues in your translation.

I might suggest the following:

Optima vitae humanae pars: illi parvi, qui nomine carent et memoriae infigi non solent, actus e benevolentia atque amore profecti.

Note that I've taken "a man's life" as a human being's life, human life, rather than the life of a male person specifically. Let me know if I was wrong because the translation would need changing then.

Pacifica

grammaticissima

• Aedilis

I'm trying to think of the best way translate "unremembered".

De memoria excidere solent was what I had a first, but that's more like being forgotten and you can argue there's a subtle nuance between "forgotten" and "unremembered". What I've got now, memoriae infigi non solent, means that they never get "imprinted" on the memory in the first place. Memoria retineri non solent ("are not retained in memory") also occurred to me.

Jamesnotl