Virtus or Fortitudo?

KT007

Hi team,

wondering if someone could please clarify for me the difference between Virtus and Fortitudo?
I’m trying to find the appropriate word to use for “strength”- I’m a female physical therapist and rely both on “physical strength” (to massage/mobilise/move my clients) as well as looking to encompass “inner strength/ strength of resolve/strength of character”.
Any guidance or clarification would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks so much.

Bradicus

Virtus vs Fortitudo, and a few others...

Trigger Warning: ancient Roman attitudes were quite sexist by contemporary standards, thus the “virtues” of women require a different vocabulary, depending on the application. However, in contemporary Latin composition, I would apply these terms to any gender as you wish, or find appropriate and useful (some may disagree). Ironically, most of the nouns are feminine in gender.
This is not a comprehensive list, but a good start. Perhaps others will add on, extend, and/or clarify...

virtus, virtutis f. - Physical and mental strength combined in an man; an attributed of proper manhood; moral rectitude, virtue, bravery, inter alia.
fortitudo, -inis
f. - Bodily strength, physical power, muscular vigor; fortitude, resolution, bravery, courage, manly strength, inter alia.
vis, vis f. (defective morphology) - Strength, force, vigor, power, energy, virtue; (various military applications); mental strength, power, force, vigor; inter alia.
firmitas, -atis f. - Firmness, strength, vigor; stability, endurance, constancy; (mostly used to describe things, but metaphorical applied to human attributes). Sym. firmitudo, -inis f.
ops, opis f. - Power, strength, ability; means, wealth; aid, support, assistance.
robur, -oris n. - Oak wood; hardness, strength, firmness; vigor, physical strength, resistive power (often metaphorical applied to human attributes).

You might also find this adj. useful: