From the earth, our secrets

BeatrizMirefount

Hello all, I am a writer planning to use a few Latin phrases in a novel.

I saw somewhere the following Latin phrase: A terra nostra absconsa. It was translated as "from the Earth, our secrets." I have been trying to verify the accuracy of this phrase but I can't find it anywhere. Perhaps I made it up? :) If anyone on this forum can confirm the accuracy of the translation, I would be grateful. The correct Latin translation for "from the Earth, our secrets" is what I'm after. Thanks for any help you can offer.

Aurifex

Aedilis

• Aedilis

• Patronus

I don't understand the relationship between the two halves of this. What is "from the earth"' (our secrets or something else?) and "from" in what sense?

BeatrizMirefount

Good question! Thanks for your response. I interpreted the phrase as follows: our secrets (our past, our history) are buried in the earth over time. With a bit of searching, we can uncover these buried secrets.

My story is about teasing out the silenced or forgotten stories in history, and some of the action takes place in ancient ruins, so I liked the thematic connection.

I hope this is helpful.

Pacifica

grammaticissima

• Aedilis

E terra, secreta nostra would be a better translation than what you now have. E could also be written ex; and secreta could be changed to arcana, according to which you like most.