Irish (Gaeilge)

Godmy

Sīmia Illūstris

• Censor

I don't speak Irish (but @Terry S. does!) nor am I learning it at the moment, but I was surprised this thread didn't exist, perhaps it should :)

Anyway, Terry, I've got this one guilty pleasure (and maybe you don't even really like her so it may be a mistake to mention her, haha) and that is listening from time to time to Enya... and some of those songs in Irish are just awesome, then I'm thinking that I should learn the language one day and I remember you ;)

Some Enya's Latin songs* (even though the pronunciation is a kind of mix of all models) were also my first serious encounter with Latin before I started learning it and it made Latin an incredibly awesome language in my mind that I should know!:p
*the second half of the song especially!

Anyway, here's a thread for you ... for Irish! :)

Terry S.

Aedilis

• Aedilis

• Patronus

Éireann go bragh!

Terry S.

Aedilis

• Aedilis

• Patronus

Enya is ok. It's her dad I had a problem with. Because of my accent he mistook me for a Protestant Minister one day at the newsagents in An Bun Beag. God rest him. He was only being open-minded and welcoming really. :cool:

Terry S.

Aedilis

• Aedilis

• Patronus

Wow, you even met him!! :cool:
It wasn't difficult to do. He ran a pub just off the main road to Carrickfinn Airport, Leo's Tavern or some such.

kizolk

Civis Illustris

• Civis Illustris

I used to listen to a lot of Enya. Either I simply didn't recognize Latin, or she didn't sing in Latin in the albums I had, either way it's cool and pretty fitting to her music.

Irish has been on my list of languages to learn forever, but I still haven't embarked on that journey yet. Maybe one day!

Clemens

Aedilis

• Aedilis