Spoken Latin

A

Anonymous

How many people here are interested in actually speaking Latin? I should also ask who of you do speak Latin on a regular basis or with a club?

I am a Project Manager with Microsoft (and also a classics enthusiast) and have been contacted by a group of Latinists from the University of California to help develop a comprehensive spoken Latin program. Our initial discussions have been exceedingly informative and exciting, but I wanted to determine from a large forum such as this whether there is interest, and any thoughts you might have on a program for spoken Latin.

The concept as it stands now consists of audio and written exercises which would allow any student to learn to read, write and speak Latin, with the emphasis being on developing Latin at as a contemporary, spoken language.

Your input is greatly appreciated!

Magda

I have read that the way Latin is pronounsed nowadays is very influenced by the native language of the speakers (thus, Italians don't pronounse Latin in the same way Americans do). This has been a problem during the 2nd Vatican Council for example. All the discussions were in Latin, but they had some difficultied to understand each other.

But it sounds as a good idea to develope a program so that people actually can learn to speak latin properly.

Leonidas

Salve quidnovi!

I can only speak for myself of course, but I think the program sounds very interesting. I would really like to know why you have not received more enthusiasm in this thread so far, I really, really hope you do not give up! First of all, I think Latin will only become more and more popular. Secondly, speaking and listening greatly enhances the learning of any language (even though you might not be interested in speaking it). Thirdly, it would be a great contribution to the "Living Latin movement".